Resources for Post-Conviction Panel Attorneys

The Private Counsel Division – Appeals Unit maintains several resources to support panel attorneys.

Post-conviction checklists

The private counsel appeals division has created checklists attorneys should submit along with their request to close a screening or direct appeal.

 

Training manual

Prepared by Murray Kohn and edited by Matt Harper-Nixon

 

Appeals Webinar Verification Form

Please use this form to request CLE credit for viewing pre-recording trainings or webinars.

 

Other divisions at CPCS can be helpful to panel attorneys in representing their clients.

The Immigration Impact Unit

Forensic Services

Training Unit

 

Resource Attorneys

Resource Attorneys are experienced post-conviction panel members who contract with CPCS to provide oversight and support to post-conviction panel members.   Among other duties, Resource Attorneys act as judges for moot arguments, hold weekly drop-in sessions and take advice calls from panel members.  A list of Resource Attorneys can be found below.

Click here for a calendar of events hosted by the Resource Attorneys.

FY2022 POST CONVICTION PANEL RESOURCE ATTORNEYS

Suffolk County:

Josh Daniels
617-942-2190
jdaniels@danielsappeals.com

Michael Nam Krane
617-553-2366
Michael@bostonjustice.net

Middlesex and Essex Counties:

Philip Weber
617-202-6651
PhilipWeberLaw@gmail.com

Erin Opperman
857-233-4602
erin@oppermanlaw.com

Worcester, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire and Berkshire counties:

Debra Kornbluh
617-755-1578
DKornmatt@aol.com

Murray Kohn
774-239-0732
Murray.kohn@appellate-defender.com

Norfolk, Plymouth, Bristol, Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket counties:

Alison Bancroft
774-215-5240
alison@attorneybancroft.com

Suzanne Renaud
508-399-1060
Suzanne.Renaud.Esq@gmail.com

Special Projects:

James McKenna
774-317-0983
James.P.McKenna.Esquire@aol.com

Edward Crane
617-851-8404
Attyedwardcrane@gmail.com

Murder cases and federal habeas litigation:

 David Nathanson
(617) 248-1806
DNathanson@WoodNathanson.com

Cathryn Neaves
(978) 475-0609
Cathryn.Neaves@comcast.net