Youth Advocacy Division Administrative Office
44 Bromfield Street, Floor 2
Boston, MA 02108
617.482.6212 (p)
617.988.8484 (f)

The mission of YAD is to ensure that every child in Massachusetts has access to zealous legal representation that employs a Youth Development Approach to traditional criminal defense.  To be effective these advocates must be highly skilled criminal defense attorneys, as all adult criminal law and procedure applies in Massachusetts Juvenile Court.  They must also be expert in juvenile law and procedure, Positive Youth Development (the leading evidence based framework for promoting life success for adolescents), adolescent brain development, navigating DCF and DYS, and education advocacy.  Accordingly, the YAD leadership team provides leadership, training, support and oversight to a diverse and collaborative juvenile defense bar across the state, consisting of over four hundred private attorneys and nine staff offices.

Juvenile Defenders and forensic social workers or social service advocates are encouraged to call or email YAD administration at any time for consultation or assistance on cases, to request training, to inquire about certification or other billing matters, to raise concerns regarding anything having to do with the quality of representation or the fairness of court proceedings.

YAD Administrative Team

Position Name Email Address Office Phone
Director Joshua Dohan jdohan@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5712
Assistant Director Priscilla Duffy pduffy@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5808
Training Director Wendy Wolf wwolf@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5814
Trial Panel Director Erica Cushna ecushna@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5807
Trial Panel Oversight Attorney Helen Fremont hfremont@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5810
Director of Juvenile Appeals Ryan Schiff rschiff@publiccounsel.net 508-484-5869
Director of Education Advocacy Marlies Spanjaard mspanjaard@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5841
EdLaw Attorney Erin O’Sullivan eosullivan@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5842
EdlLaw Attorney Michele Scavongelli mscavongelli@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5845
Director of Social Work Anna Bulkin abulkin@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5806
Revocation Advocacy Coordinator Mara Voukydis mvoukydis@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5813
Administrative Assistant Pamela Lewis plewis@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5809
Administrative Assistant Angela Childs achilds@publiccounsel.net 617-910-5725
Receptionist Patricia Day pday@publiccounsel.net 617-482-6212